Community Forums > Voobly Support > Game related problems > Can't get Voobly to detect DE

Can't get Voobly to detect DE

 _Clearly_


Join Date: 23 August 2018
Posts:50
Posted 30 January 2021 - 7:23 pm
Hi, I installed voobly just now after some years. Now, I after I browsed the location of the file, I can't launch the game as an error is thrown.

The file was not found at the location the registry said it should be. The registry keys need to either be fixed or the game needs to be moved to the proper location.

What can I do to play the game? I searched some of the forums and they said "delete the aoc folder voobly/gamedata". I did that and it didn't work.

I have AoE2 DE legit steam copy. Thanks in advance.
Link | Reply | Quote
 Steves_Siege


Join Date: 20 January 2021
Posts:3
Posted 31 January 2021 - 6:11 pm
exacgtly my problem as well

i have AOE definite HD edition and legit download it sucks can no longer play voobly like i could in the windows xp days just fine :(
Link | Reply | Quote
 Steves_Siege


Join Date: 20 January 2021
Posts:3
Posted 31 January 2021 - 6:15 pm
Non-DirectPlay game path is 'c:\program files (x86)\voobly\gamedata\aoc\aocpatch'
Verifying 'c:\program files (x86)\voobly\gamedata\aoc\aocpatch\language_x1.dll' exists...
Failure!

The file was not found at the location the registry said it should be. The registry keys need to either be fixed or the game needs to be moved to the proper location.
Link | Reply | Quote
 +[email protected]


Voobly Team

Join Date: 3 October 2007
Posts:11695
Posted 31 January 2021 - 6:26 pm
Please make sure the game is installed like this:
For HD [You must login to view link]
For AOC [You must login to view link]
Link | Reply | Quote
 kwin


Join Date: 21 November 2012
Posts:1652
Posted 31 January 2021 - 7:49 pm
Topicstarter says he has aoe2de...
I don't think he can play with that on Voobly...
Link | Reply | Quote
 _Clearly_


Join Date: 23 August 2018
Posts:50
Posted 1 February 2021 - 11:44 am
kwin wrote:
Topicstarter says he has aoe2de...
I don't think he can play with that on Voobly...

Thanks, I thought HD was not necessary to install voobly. Looks like I have to install HD as well :) Thank you! Will reply in this same thread if I have any more issues after installing HD.
Link | Reply | Quote
 [ X ]PrIMeZ


Join Date: 27 January 2017
Posts:478
Posted 1 February 2021 - 1:47 pm
we want original DE in VOOBLY SOON ;cry !!!
Link | Reply | Quote
 Anik3t


Join Date: 20 October 2013
Posts:2007
Posted 2 February 2021 - 4:11 am
we want original DE in VOOBLY SOON ;cry !!!
I doubt microsoft will allow it.
It only allowed aoc hd because noone used to play it.
And now with DE they can make profit themselves, why would they will outsource it. $$$


Link | Reply | Quote
[1]
Displaying 1 - 8 out of 8 posts
Forum Jump: