Community Forums > Voobly Support and Game Complaints Support > Client and Website related Problems and Questions > help! running WINE and no lag BUT shows as fast proxy to 90% of users.

help! running WINE and no lag BUT shows as fast proxy to 90% of users.

sanwololo

Posted 11 August 2020 - 2:08 am
I started playing a year ago and I am able to play matches with no lag, maybe very slight lag but it could be other players, however I always show as FP and people tell me I have a good ping, so how can I fix this?

I have a macbook pro updated to Mojave, so I am running AOE2 through WINE (unofficial wineskin app) since it's the only app that let's me run Voobly/AOE2 on mojave. As for my internet, my only option is my phone, I am constantly moving so I am an actual nomad. Sometimes a friend comes over my place and we play in 2 macbook's over the same hotspot and we have zero problems. However, when playing with people around the world, I get kicked out 9 out of 10 times. just because it shows as fp. It's very frustrating to have to explain/ beg that my ping is good/ i am on mac bla bla bla. however, some people let me play because they say, "well your ping is low so i trust you" so how can I fix the FP problem?

I have tried switching to ports 2310/16000 , I have tried VPN from my phone, however when I try to use a VPN from the laptop it actually doesnt let me log in on voobly. After entering my name and password it just gets stuck on 90kbs downloaded or so.

I have also checked my firewall and make sure nothing is blocked for AOE or voobly.
I am able to watch netflix with no interruptions on high quality. I did a speed test from my laptop and it says 13 ping ms and 16 mbps upload 16mbps download.

I am guessing to find a solution in WINE/Voobly maybe there is something I could tweak in either of these two softwares.

Please help me find a solution, that doesn't involve buying a windows computer. thanks!!

Link | Reply | Quote
 Kicking