Community Forums > Games > Age Of Mythology > Age Of Mythology Titans voobly on Wine (Ubuntu)

Age Of Mythology Titans voobly on Wine (Ubuntu)

 ApextOC


Join Date: 26 January 2015
Posts:8
Edited 26 December 2019 - 12:40 pm by ApextOC
Hello.

So I've been trying the past couple of days to run AoT on ubuntu. The problem is that each time i create a lobby in-game the ip shown at the top is 0.0.0.0 and of course i can't play any games. Is there a solution to this problem?
I've installed directplay, I use the latest version of wine-staging and I've reinstalled wine and the game several times.

Thanks in advance.
Attachments:
screenshot.png (file size: 967.86 KB)

Link | Reply | Quote
 augusto


Join Date: 19 August 2015
Posts:610
Posted 26 December 2019 - 7:52 pm
Hello ApextOC, from which source did you get the game?

Please remember the Steam version of AOM/AOM:TT is not supported by Voobly.
Link | Reply | Quote
 ApextOC


Join Date: 26 January 2015
Posts:8
Posted 26 December 2019 - 10:31 pm
Hello.
Thanks for the fast reply.
I installed the game from my original CDs. The same game files work fine in windows(with voobly).

Thanks.
Link | Reply | Quote
 +BlackAdder_


Join Date: 19 May 2013
Posts:315
Posted 11 January 2020 - 4:35 am
Hey,

Did you get it working? Looking how you have games on your account?

If not I did a bit of googling and this came out, check it out if it helps:

[You must login to view link]

[You must login to view link] of the game being block by some firewall.

Cheers and gl&hf in your games,

Black Adder
Link | Reply | Quote
 ApextOC


Join Date: 26 January 2015
Posts:8
Posted 15 January 2020 - 8:03 am
Hey Blackadder.

No I haven't fixed it, I'm playing on windows. I found the link you provided, a while ago so I created this thread:

[You must login to view link]

According to the guy responding, that bug was fixed in an old version of wine, but still something is wrong with my pc and I get 0.0.0.0. Honestly, I just gave up on fixing it, I wasted too much time on it arleady..

Thanks
Link | Reply | Quote
 +BlackAdder_


Join Date: 19 May 2013
Posts:315
Posted 15 January 2020 - 3:15 pm
Okay, well, np, sorry we could not find a solution, glad you're able to play anyway.
Link | Reply | Quote
 ApextOC


Join Date: 26 January 2015
Posts:8
Posted 3 March 2021 - 11:55 pm
Hello everyone.

An update. I managed to almost "fix" it. The game now shows the right IP in lobby and I can start and play the game, but after a couple of minutes it crashes. I don't know exactly why, but it is related to the vooblynat file. If anyone is interested I can share the source code. The problem I think is that voobly tries to access the I.P. of an interface that doesn't exist(was not created) in wine, and for that reason it shows 0.0.0.0. So the "fix" was to simply change the function that returns the I.P. of an interface so when voobly requests the I.P. of that interface the function returns the right I.P. The next thing to do I think, is to add a new interface in the "interface table", but I haven't figured how to do that yet.. so I could use some help!

Thanks in advance
Link | Reply | Quote
 RiderOfRohann


Join Date: 12 May 2014
Posts:8
Posted 20 June 2021 - 8:50 pm
Any update on this? also how did you do the first part to avoid getting 0.0.0.0 ?
Link | Reply | Quote
 ApextOC


Join Date: 26 January 2015
Posts:8
Posted 4 July 2021 - 8:30 am
Hello RiderOfRohann.

I "changed"(a tiny bit) the code in the file socket.c, in the wine source. You can download the source from here:

[You must login to view link]

Then you have to go find this(at line 2932 and below):
Code:
if (found_index == ipAddrTable->dwNumEntries) { ERR("no matching IP address for interface %d\n", row.dwForwardIfIndex); HeapFree( GetProcessHeap(), 0, ipAddrTable ); SetLastError( WSAEFAULT ); return -1; }

Then you have to replace it with:
Code:
if (found_index == ipAddrTable->dwNumEntries) { found_index = found_index - 1; }

After you do that, you have to compile wine:
[You must login to view link]

I don't recommend you to do that because it simply crashes after a couple of minutes, so it is a waste of time in a sense. To be honest I don't fully understand how the code works. The "solution" is really simple and "naive" I would say, but atleast it fixes the 0.0.0.0 problem 8) . Right now, I don't have time to look into it any further, maybe in a few months(or years) I will come back. I was so happy for a couple of minutes, when I managed to connect and play the game, I thought I had fixed it but then it crashed. ;tears



Link | Reply | Quote
[1]
Displaying 1 - 9 out of 9 posts
Forum Jump:
2 User(s) are reading this topic (in the past 30 minutes)
1 members, 1 guests