XP-leveling system

Glxblt76

Edited 7 June 2022 - 3:46 pm by Glxblt76
Hi there,

I'm fairly sure that it doesn't exist (because I have been looking for such a mod for years), but just in case:

=> Does anyone know whether a Unit experience leveling system mod has been developed by someone for any of the AoE I or AoE II games?

If not, I'm willing to go into this rabbit hole. I have some programming experience. I've seen that there's this Advanced Genie program that exists to assist modding but I can't see how this can be used to create a new game mechanic such as unit levelling. Here's an outline of how I would see it to work in the simplest possible version:

=> Unit kills other unit and gets a small buff in stats (such as attack, armor or HP)

To make sure, I would like to mention that only the unit that killed gets the buff, not other identical units of the player elsewhere in the map.

A long time ago, I tried to implement this with triggers but never succeeded in really narrowing it down to what I want. So I want to try to implement it as a mod.

How would you imagine this being done?

PS: I know that this idea is generally unpopular in the AoE community because many players are adamant about the balance of the game and how Unit leveling would ruin it. I don't want to put it out as an idea for the vanilla version of the game that players use for PvP. I just want to make a mod so that people like me who would enjoy it as a fun little perk against computers can enjoy getting heroes out of their standard soldiers if they survive long enough on the battlefield. :)

Thanks in advance,
Best regards.
Link | Reply | Quote
 +chris@voobly

Voobly Team

Posted 7 June 2022 - 4:10 pm
Most RPG maps are working that way, you get HP and attack points for kills or time. This is already possible using the Scenario Editor in AoE II.
Link | Reply | Quote
 Glxblt76

Edited 7 June 2022 - 4:28 pm by Glxblt76
Hi Chris,

Thanks for your quick reply.