Community Forums > Games > Age of Empires II: The Conquerors > Custom Scenario > Mod Design > How to make in game tech tree font bigger ?

How to make in game tech tree font bigger ?

 Bennn


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 25 December 2016
Posts:19
Posted 17 June 2018 - 8:47 pm
Hello guys,

I play AOE2 on voobly using HD compatibility patch from steam install.
I have a 2560x1400 monitor and the resolution works perfectly, I really appreciate the game in voobly more than in steam.

I have one small issue with the tech tree, I was wondering if anyone knew what I could do.
Basically the tech tree font is very small and it is hard for me to read it on voobly.
On steam for some reason it is much more zoomed in. I would like to do the same on voobly.
I'm attaching the screenshot from the tech tree in both voobly and steam to make it easier to understand.

How could I increase the font in voobly please ? Even just make it bold would help.

I'm thinking I could make some sort of visual mod if needed but I don't know how to get started.
I did found this tutorial https://www.voobly.com/pages/view/gamemods#Creating_your_own_mods but I was not able to understand how to do what I'm trying to do.


Thank you,

Ben
Attachments:
vooblyTechTree.jpg (file size: 1.31 MB)
steam.jpg (file size: 1.17 MB)

Link | Reply | Quote
 +Gallas


Group: System Operator
Join Date: 25 May 2011
Posts:2536
Posted 1 July 2018 - 7:15 am
hi Bennn,

Have you tried one of these for it?
https://www.voobly.com/gamemods/mod/604/Text---bigger-messages
https://www.voobly.com/gamemods/mod/652/Text---bold-stats
https://www.voobly.com/gamemods/mod/659/Text---streamer-edition
Link | Reply | Quote
 Bennn


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 25 December 2016
Posts:19
Posted 2 July 2018 - 4:15 pm
Thank you so much for your feedback. That is indeed a very good idea. I'll try it tonight and let you know.
Link | Reply | Quote
 Bennn


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 25 December 2016
Posts:19
Posted 2 July 2018 - 9:15 pm
I tried all 3. Definitely very good mods, I'll keep the two first one.
However it did not change the font in the tech tree.

How did you do to create this mod please ?

Thanks,
Ben
Link | Reply | Quote
 Bennn


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 25 December 2016
Posts:19
Posted 4 July 2018 - 9:40 pm
I did find this file: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Age2HD\resources\_common\dat\UiColors.txt where the RBGA color codes are defined for each player.

From what I understand if I create a folder like this C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Age2HD\Voobly Mods\AOC\Local Mods\Text - Bigger Tech Tree UI

with a version.ini file and then the same file with the same path inside it (\resources\_common\dat\UiColors.txt), then I can override it to change how the player colors are displayed.

Now this is not exactly what I wan't to do. I would like to change the tech tree ui font size.

I'm assuming there should be another file similar to this one who defines it.
Where can I find this file please ?
Also what are all this .dat files and how to read them please ?
If I open it with notepad++ I just see a bunch of non readable symbols.

I found also this folder, maybe that should be where the tech tree ui font size is defined: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Age2HD\resources\_common\fonts
but all files are .ttf and I don't know how to read them.

Thanks for any information you can provide.

Ben
Link | Reply | Quote
 +Gallas


Group: System Operator
Join Date: 25 May 2011
Posts:2536
Edited 4 July 2018 - 11:15 pm by +Gallas
hi Bennn,

UiColors.txt is not used by aoe cd version, so can't help with those.

version.ini is used by Voobly to compare website version with the one what users have in their directory to keep everything update if the author upload new version.

.dat files can be opened by Advanced Genie editor 3 (AGE3), but you not need this now.

What you are looking for is in the language files, which can be used as language.ini and possible one of these lines edit the tech tree font size. You have to check them one by one to find it which is related to the tech tree. There is a huge chance if you modify one it may affect other lines too:
Code:
98 1 99 0 100 1 101 1 102 Lucida Blackletter 103 Comic Sans MS 104 Georgia 110 Lucida Blackletter 111 14 112 N 113 Lucida Blackletter 114 21 115 B 116 Lucida Blackletter 117 12 118 B 119 Georgia 120 9 121 B 122 Georgia 123 8 124 B 125 Georgia 126 9 127 N 128 Georgia 129 9 130 B 131 Arial 132 8 133 N 134 Lucida Blackletter 135 38 136 B 137 Lucida Blackletter 138 28 139 B 140 Arial Narrow 141 9 142 N 143 Arial 144 9 145 N 146 Lucida Blackletter 147 12 148 N 149 Lucida Blackletter 150 12 151 B 152 Viner Hand ITC 153 16 154 N 155 Georgia 156 9 157 B 158 Georgia 159 9 160 I 161 Georgia 162 9 163 BI 164 Lucida Calligraphy 165 14 166 N 167 Poor Richard 168 14 169 N 170 Georgia 171 10 172 B 173 Lucida Bright 174 12 175 BI 176 Lucida Blackletter 177 14 178 B 179 Lucida Blackletter 180 12 181 B 182 Georgia 183 11 184 N 185 Lucida Blackletter 186 12 187 B 188 Georgia 189 10 190 B 191 Georgia 192 9 193 B 194 Lucida Blackletter 195 11 196 N 197 Papyrus 198 12 199 N 200 Georgia 201 9 202 B 203 Georgia 204 11 205 B 206 Georgia 207 11 208 I 209 Georgia 210 11 211 BI

First number is the text line, second is either the font size or the type or bold/italic.

Example, in the text - bold stats mod I edited the 132 line to 11 from 8 and 133 from N (normal) to B (bold) and the .ini files looks like as:
Code:
132=11 133=B
Link | Reply | Quote
 Bennn


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 25 December 2016
Posts:19
Edited 2 August 2018 - 9:56 pm by Bennn
Thanks for the help!

So basically I searched 'language.ini' in my AOE install folder and the only files matching are from Mods.
I couldn't find one like the one you are showing in the first code block.
So what I did is that I modified the file from your mod (C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Age2HD\Voobly Mods\AOC\Local Mods\Text - bigger messages\language.ini).

Here I pasted the entire code you showed and modify all the size to 50.

Then I ran the game as single player making sure the mod was activated, but I saw no change in the tech tree font.

But since I did not see any modification in any text size I'm wondering if what I did was actually considered by the game.

Attachments:
search.jpg (file size: 151.22 KB)
50.jpg (file size: 142.25 KB)
run single player.jpg (file size: 104.28 KB)

Link | Reply | Quote
 +Gallas


Group: System Operator
Join Date: 25 May 2011
Posts:2536
Posted 3 August 2018 - 10:10 am
language.ini does not exist normally in your aoe directory, this is a thing what voobly use/make only.

Size 50 maybe too big, but as you have aoeHD that also can have effect on this. Try with smaller amount and same as what my mod do, just for test. It can happen tech tree font size cannot be changed.


Link | Reply | Quote
[1]
Displaying 1 - 8 out of 8 posts
Forum Jump:
1 User(s) are reading this topic (in the past 30 minutes)
0 members, 1 guests

Most active threads in past week: