Files that always come back in multi folder

 +kwin


Join Date: 21 November 2012
Posts:1953
Posted 7 December 2023 - 3:23 am
Hi,

I am used to delete all files, almost every day, in my multi folder:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Age2HD\savegame\multi

The strange thing is... there are 2 files that always come back in my multi folder.
I delete them every day, but if I restart PC, they are back...
The name KWYIBO in 1 of those files is the name of a good friend of me...
The files are changed in 2018 and 2021... strange because they just back after restart PC...

This is not a big problem but I am just wondering why this happen...

Has someone any idea why those files come back after every restart of the PC?

Grts & tx :)
Attachments:

Link | Reply | Quote
 +chris@voobly

Voobly Team


Join Date: 3 October 2007
Posts:15687
Posted 7 December 2023 - 10:21 pm
The creation date is confusing… two and five years old? Ugh. I will try to figure it out once I am home. Thanks for the report.
Link | Reply | Quote
 Sickle


Join Date: 25 May 2020
Posts:160
Posted 8 December 2023 - 2:04 pm
.aoe2mpgame is not a voobly savegame right? at least i don't have files like that. Do the files only reappear after you start voobly or regardless? Think it's probably not voobly related?
Link | Reply | Quote
 +kwin


Join Date: 21 November 2012
Posts:1953
Posted 9 December 2023 - 3:30 am
Same 2 files come back after every restart of the PC. If I restart Voobly or not makes no difference...

Maybe this are 2 left overs from little time i played on steam but why it come back ???

I delete recycle bin too, still come back...

very strange...
Link | Reply | Quote
 +[MM]jason


Join Date: 13 June 2013
Posts:499
Posted 13 December 2023 - 11:20 am
Try deleting from elevated command prompt.
Link | Reply | Quote
 +kwin


Join Date: 21 November 2012
Posts:1953
Edited 14 December 2023 - 12:46 am by +kwin
Maybe it's Steam program that put the files back after every PC restart?

It think that those files are coming from Steam...

Maybe Steam using some kind of cloud?
Link | Reply | Quote
 +chris@voobly

Voobly Team


Join Date: 3 October 2007
Posts:15687
Posted 13 December 2023 - 4:48 pm
Could you please give me a list of installed mods from our game mod center? Thanks. :)
Link | Reply | Quote
 +kwin


Join Date: 21 November 2012
Posts:1953
Posted 14 December 2023 - 12:14 am
+chris@voobly wrote:
Could you please give me a list of installed mods from our game mod center? Thanks. :)

Data Mods:
1.0 Patch Mod
5th Age Mod
9x Tech Mod
256x Tech Mod
Advanced Statistics
Allied Vision
Allied Vision - Advanced Statistics
Allied vision with LN balance
DE Balance
DE Balance - Allied Vision
DE Balanced with Long Resources
Forest Nothing Cutter
ForestPrison-Balance
HD Balance - Allied Vision
Jurassic 2
LN FFA rules mod
Longer Lasting Resources
Nations at War
No House Mod
No Walls Mod
RCB Fair Mod
Realms
Rome Returns
Sheep vs Wolf
Sheep vs Wolf 2
Silly Random
TD II TEAMBONUS V4A
TDII TeamBonus V4
TDII TeamBonus V4A2
Teams TD III
Triple Tech Mod
v1.5 Game Data
v1.6 Game Data
VILLAGERUNKNOWNS BATTLEGROUNDS
WololoKingdoms
WololoKingdoms AK
WololoKingdoms Converter
WololoKingdoms FE
X-Patch with Allied Vision


Local Mods:
1.6 Map Pack
Adv Tree Outlines
Advanced Spec
Age of Cube - Another Alternative
Ai pack
Alternative Farms
Alternative Minimap
AoC Custom Scenarios
Dark Grey Patch
DE Random Map Pool
HD Fire Arrows
Huge Number - AoC
Light Grid NoSnow
Petard colors
Pink Pony
shorter houses
Shorter Houses Updated
Spectator Dashboard
Veggie Farms
WaterbyLzNi_v3


Patches:
v1.4 RC
v1.5 Beta R7
v1.5 RC
v1.6 RC


Seems I don't remember all those mods, but that's the list :)

Grts
Link | Reply | Quote
 +kwin


Join Date: 21 November 2012
Posts:1953
Posted 14 December 2023 - 12:28 am
+[MM]jason wrote:
Try deleting from elevated command prompt.

I found "how to do this" with Google :)

Result was the same, I restart PC and files back again...
Link | Reply | Quote
 +[MM]jason


Join Date: 13 June 2013
Posts:499
Posted 14 December 2023 - 1:25 am
My guess it’s stream cache.
Do you run steam when windows starts? If so try disabling that and see if the files only reappear when steam starts.
You should be able to clear the cache by right clicking the game in steam I believe.
Link | Reply | Quote
 +kwin


Join Date: 21 November 2012
Posts:1953
Posted 14 December 2023 - 6:15 am
I did run Steam when windows starts, so I cancelled that option.
Result after restarting pc was that the files did not come back...

At the moment I started steam, the files came back again.

So, it's steam who put those files always back...

Tx Jason :)
Link | Reply | Quote
 +chris@voobly

Voobly Team


Join Date: 3 October 2007
Posts:15687
Posted 14 December 2023 - 6:35 am
Then the files should go away if you do the following:
  • Start Steam and keep it running
  • Delete the files
  • Start the game and close it again
  • Now close Steam and wait for the file sync
Link | Reply | Quote
 +kwin


Join Date: 21 November 2012
Posts:1953
Posted 14 December 2023 - 9:09 am
+chris@voobly wrote:
Then the files should go away if you do the following:
  • Start Steam and keep it running
  • Delete the files
  • Start the game and close it again
  • Now close Steam and wait for the file sync

I did this:

- Start steam and keep it running.
- Deleted the files
- Start the game (on Steam Age of Empires 2013)
But at the moment I launch the age of Empires 2013 on Steam, the 2 files come back again ^^
- I deleted the files again.
- Closed Steam.
- Opened Steam again and... the files came back again...
Link | Reply | Quote
 +kwin


Join Date: 21 November 2012
Posts:1953
Posted 15 December 2023 - 5:15 am
It's coming from the Steam cloud.

There is an option "Allow Steam Cloud to sync supported programs"
If I turn this option off, then the files stay away.
If I turn this option on again, then files come back again...

Link | Reply | Quote
 +chris@voobly

Voobly Team


Join Date: 3 October 2007
Posts:15687
Posted 17 December 2023 - 12:27 pm
Glad to hear you were able to figure it out. Still, it should sync with Steam Cloud and the files should be gone, after deleting them + starting / closing game + closing Steam. Perhaps this only works, if you also play a game? No idea.


Link | Reply | Quote
[1]
Displaying 1 - 15 out of 15 posts
Forum Jump:
4 User(s) are reading this topic (in the past 30 minutes)
0 members, 4 guests